Event Details

Pakistan-Sri Lanka Cricket Series (2019)

Sri Lanka returned to Pakistan after a nearly two-year of absence for three short-form cricket games: ODIs and T20Is that were played from 27 September till 09 October, this year. 

The Sri Lankans arrived in Pakistan without almost all of their leading players including the likes of Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews and Dimuth Karunaratne. Lahiru Thirimanne, who led the visiting team. Despite the fact that Sri Lanka have sent their second string for the series, the Pakistanis included almost all of their top players in the squad.

World's no. 1 T-20 side, the hosts, Pakistan did convincingly won the ODI series by clinching victories two of the three matches among which the first game was washed out without a ball being bowled due to rain in the National Stadium in Karachi that hosted the three ODI matches while Babar Azam and Usman Shinwari guided Pakistan to its first triumph by 67-runs defeating the visiting side. Then Pakistan romped to a 5 wicket win in the third and last One-day International against Sri Lanka to complete a 2-0 series victory. 

While the Twenty20 Internationals winners stand as the visiting side, Sri Lankan Cricket Team, as they stunned the crowd at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore that hosted the three T-20 matches, by making Pakistan face the whitewash of the series. 

According to the original programme, Pakistan was scheduled to host Sri Lanka for two World Test Championship matches in October before Sri Lanka return for three ODIs and three T20Is in late December. The decision to swap matches was made following a ‘phone discussion between Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman, Ehsan Mani and Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) President, Shammi Silva to which it was decided that the Sri Lankan Cricket Team would play ODIs and T-20 series for six days and then the visitors will have to fly back to home on 10th October. 


Sarfaraz Ahmed (Captain and Wicket-Keeper), Babar Azam, Abid Ali, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hasnain, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam Ul Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (Wicket-Keeper), Shadab Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari and Wahab Riaz.


Lahiru Thirimanne (Captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama (Wicket-Keeper), Oshada Fernando, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan and Nuwan Pradeep.

Event News