Hockey NEWS

PHF name 18-man national hockey junior team for FIH Men's Hockey World Cup 2023.

Pakistan will face the Netherlands on December 6 in their opening fixture while Argentine will defend their title

The National Selection Committee of the Pakistan Hockey Federation, led by Mohammad Asif Bajwa, has announced the 18-man national junior hockey team for the upcoming FIH Junior Hockey World Cup 2023. The squad was approved by President PHF, Khalid Sajjad Khokhar.

The tournament will take place from December 5 at Bukit Jalil National Hockey Stadium, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, featuring 16 teams. Argentina is the defending champion. Pakistan's junior team won the Junior Hockey World Cup in 1979 and secured silver in 1993. They have also claimed third place three times in 1982, 1985, and 1989.

A total of 16 teams are participating in FIH Men's Hockey World Cup 2023:

Pool A: Argentina, Australia, Chile, Malaysia
Pool B: Egypt, France, Germany, South Africa
Pool C: Canada, India, Korea, Spain
Pool D: Belgium, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan

The Squad: Ali Raza, Abdul Rafay Sajid, Arbaaz Ahmed, Mohammad Sufyan Khan, Ehtsham Aslam, Aqeel Ahmed, Abdul Manan, Mohammad Murtaza Yaqub, Zikaria Hayat, Mohammad Hayat, Ghazanfar Ali, Ali Murtaza, Arshad Liaquat, Abdul Hanan Shahid, Abdul Rehman, Umar Mustafa, Abuzar, Abdul Qayyum.

Reserve Players: Basharat Ali and Arbaaz Ayaz.

Team Officials: Asif Naz Khokhar (Manager), Roelant Oltamans (Head Coach), Olympian Shakeel Abbasi, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Asif (Coaches), Mohammad Aslam (Physiotherapist) Nadeem Lodhi (Video Analyst)

Related News