Muhammad Munir prevails over defending champion Matloob to win Punjab Open 2020 Golf title

Muhammad Munir of Rawalpindi Golf Club dethroned defending champion Matloob Ahmed to be the winner of 39th Punjab Open Golf Championship that concluded at PAF Skyview Golf Course, Lahore.

Rawalpindi Golf Club’s Muhammad Munir underlined his status as the most exciting professional golfer in the country when he won the prestigious 39th Punjab Open Golf Championship in an emphatic manner at PAF Skyview Golf Course, Lahore.

The seasoned veteran, Munir battled the elements in the 18 holes final round of the two million rupees championship on the final day as he sank a series of birdies to finish the event with a superb card of ten-under-par 67 and a three-day aggregate of 206.

Though Matloob tried hard, there was no way he could stop Munir, who left behind such players as Shabbir,Talib, Waheed Baloch, Mohammad Shahzad and Ahmed Baig.

Shahzad of Garrison Golf Club, relatively new to the national golf circuit, played remarkably well to achieve the runner-up slot with scores of 71, 71, and a sparkling 66 in the final round, which meant a championship aggregate of 208, eight under par.

Matloob had to be content with the third position, his three round scores being 68, 70 and 71 — a total of 209, seven under par.

Following these three were M Shabbir (Islamabad) 73, 70, 68=211; Suleman Akhter (Gymkhana) 75, 64, 74=213; M Alam (PSGCC) 74, 70, 69=213; Talat Ijaz (Gymkhana) 71, 70, 73=214; Usman Ali (Garrison) 72, 74, 68=214; Taimoor Khan (Peshawar) 75, 74, 66=215; Ahmed Baig (PSGCC) 73, 70, 73=216; Ashiq Hussain (Multan) 70, 75, 71=216; Latif Rafiq (Gymkhana) 72, 73, 71=216.

In the amateurs section, Salman Jehangir of Lahore Gymkhana won the first gross with scores of 70, 75 and 77 and an aggregate of 222. Qasim Ali Khan, also of Gymkhana came second with a total score for three days of 224. Umar Khokhar of Bahria Rawalpindi was third in this category with an aggregate score of 230.

Top position in the ladies competition was won by Parkha Ijaz (Defence Raya) with a stunning display of classy golf as she recorded gross 78 on the first day and gross 76 in the second round while Aaniya Syed (PAF Skyview) secured the runner-up spot. Suneyah Osama (PAF Skyview) came third.

Ladies first position in net was claimed by Laiba Shah (Gymkhana), B Fatima won second net and Saeeda Iman Ali Shah (Gymkhana) attained the third net prize.

Senior professionals: Mohammad Akram (1st), Tahir Nasim (2nd), Raja Iftikhar (3rd)

Junior professionals: Abdul Wadood (1st), Faizan (2nd), Akash Bashir (3rd)

Senior Amateurs: Lt Col Asif Medi (1st net), Tariq Mehmood (2nd net), Ahsan Ghias (3rd net)

Rustam Chatta (1st gross), Rashid Akbar (2nd gross), Lt Col Waqar Ahmed (3rd gross)

Related News