7th J.A. Zaman Memorial golf tees off

The 7th J.A. Zaman Memorial golf teed off at Lahore Gymkhana with the ladies and senior events while the professional event over four days will begin from Thursday.

With a total cash prize of Rs 3.34 million, the seventh J.A. Zaman Memorial Open Golf Tournament has attracted majority of the country's leading professional and amateurs contestants to vie for the top honours. 

The action began at Lahore Gymkhana on Tuesday with ladies and senior events.

The four-day professional event starts on Thursday while the three-day amateurs event gets into action on Friday. Sunday is the final day of the five-day competition.

Leading participating professionals are M. Shabbir (Islamabad), Matloob Ahmed (Lahore Garrison), Mohammad Munir (Rawalpindi), M. Ashfaq (Karachi Golf Club), Hamza Amin (Islamabad), Ansar Mehmood (Navy), Waheed Baloch (Karachi Golf Club), M. Naeem (Peshawar), Shahid Javed Khan (Gymkkhana) and Talib Hussain (CDA).

Notable amongst the amateurs featuring in this championship include Zohaib Asif, Salman Jehangir, Qasim Ali Khan, Ghazanfar Mehmood and Raja Mohammad Israr while prominent ladies are Suneyah Osama, Ghazala Yasmin, Zaib-un-Nisa and Sameea Javed Ali.

Action at the tournament would be seen in the categories of professionals, senior professionals, junior professionals, amateurs, senior amateurs, veterans, ladies and boys. Prizes will also be at stake for senior professionals oer the age of 50.

The huge prize money on offer has made the event the biggest in Punjab’s golfing circuit.

Another significant attribute is that for the first time in the tournament’s history, the professionals will compete over four days in line with international standard tournaments.

Besides the cash prizes to be distributed among top 40 position holders, a car awaits the hole-in-one scorer. 

There is also an event for junior professionals. Age eligibility for junior professionals is 21 with the prize money set at Rs 225,000.

As for senior professionals the age criteria is 50 years and above. Most of the senior professionals taking part in this championship are players who have performed at the national level. The prize money allocated for them is Rs 450,000.

Related News