SGA 2nd Ladies Amateur Golf Championship tees off today

Leading female golfers of Pakistan are to participate in the 2019 SGA Ladies Amateur Golf Championship which is all set to begin from today and will continue over the weekend at Karachi Golf Club.

Sindh Golf Association (SGA) is organizing the Ladies Amateur Golf Championship, into the current year which will mark its second edition and is a three day event which is to be held starting from today and will continue over the weekend.  

This elite golfing event will have Pakistan’s leading female golfers who will feature in a total of  five different categories which are stated below:

- Category A (handicap 0-13),
- Category B (handicap 14-24),
- Category C (handicap 25-36),
 - Category D (seniors 60 plus) and
- Category E (junior girls 13 and below).

This event will feature a total of about 55 players from all over Pakistan with 16 players from upcountry have joined a field of 39 Karachi-based players in the event. 

At the press conference held at KGC of this event, Asad I.A Khan, President SGA, underlined the fact that the popularity of golf was on the rise among ladies in Pakistan.
“Ladies golf is coming of age in Pakistan and SGA is seriously contemplating a ladies’ section in the SGA secretariat.”
Cmdre Ghazanfar Abbas, KGC COO, said,
"All arrangements have been made to make the tournament a big success. The fairways and greens are in great shape and I’m sure that the visiting players will love the experience of playing at our course.” 
Tournament Director Fawzia Naqvi, also Lady Captain of KGC thanked the President of Pakistan Golf Federation (PGF) saying,
“This is a ranking match and we are trying to prepare young ladies from school and colleges to play golf and eventually compete internationally. We are thankful to President Pakistan Golf Federation (PGF), Gen Mian Hilal Hussain for his great support to ladies golf in the country.”
This event is hugely sponsored by SGA and the subsidiary sponsors are: UMA, Bank AL Habib, Kings Group, Golootlo and others.

The tournament committee includes: Cmdre Ghazanfar Abbas, Cdr Majid Satti, Rizwan Feroz, Ahmed Ismail, Fawzia Naqvi, Humera Khalid and Durdana Soomro. Cmdre Zafar Mehmood as the chief referees while MPA Dr Seema Yazdani will be the honorable chief guest who will grace the event open.

Related News