Event Details

Golootlo Pakistan Open Squash Championship 2018

Tournament Draws

It is for the first time in 13 years that the Pakistan Open once counted among the leading tournaments on the international squash circuit will be played in Karachi.

The 2018 Golootlo Pakistan Open Squash Championships will take place from 28th November to 2nd December 2018 in Karachi , Pakistan . The Men's Squash Tournament is part of the PSA World Tour 2018/19 calendar and belongs to the Bronze category of PSA World Tour .

Pakistan's foremost players Ahsan Ayaz, Asim Khan, Tayyab Aslam and Noman Khan are in main round of $73,000 Golootlo Pakistan Open Squash Championships 2018.

The main round consist of 24 players while the eight top players got bye in the first round and Noman Khan & Ahsan Ayaz received wildcard to get a place in the mega event.

In parallel there will be a women's squash tournament, part of the Women's PSA World Tour 2018/19 and part of the PSA Challenger Tour 20 category. 

As many as 37 foreign and 11 Pakistani players belonging to 14 nations besides the hosts will compete in men and women events.
The foreign countries includes Egypt, England, Spain, France, Czech Republic, Mexico, Peru, Serbia, Qatar, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Japan, Iran and Kuwait.

Egyptians, meanwhile, who enjoy lion’s share in the top eight seedings of the two categories also had the honour that top seeds Karim Abdel Gawad and Yathreb Adel belongs to the African nation.

The men’s will compete for prize money of US $ 53,000 while the women’s will vie for honours for US $ 18,000. The women’s event has been added to the Pakistan Open first time.

Meanwhile, the Professional Squash Association (PSA) has revised the men’s draw following withdrawal of fourth seed Mexican Cesar Salazar. However, his sibling Arturo Salazar, who is fifth seed, is competing. 

The top eight seeds men’s who have been given first round bye are 1-Karim Abdel Gawad (Egypt), 2-Diego Elias (Peru), 3-Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (Qatar), 4-Nafi­izwan Adnan (Malaysia), 5-Arturo Salazar (Mexico), 6-Omar Abdel Meguid (Egypt), 7-Karim El Hammamy (Egypt), 8-Mohammed Reda (Egypt).

Similarly, the top eight women’s who were directly through to the second round following a bye are 1-Yathreb Adel (Egypt), 2-Nadine Shahin (Egypt), 3-Zeina Mickawy (Egypt), 4-Liu Tsz Ling (Hong Kong), 5-Sivasangari Subramaniam (Mala­ysia), 6-Satomi Watanabe (Japan), 7-Rachel Arnold (Malaysia), 8-Tong Tsz-Wing (Hong Kong).

In the tournament, the following prize money and world ranking list points will be paid out or credited for the achievement of the respective round.  The total prize money of men's events is $ 53,000.

RoundPoints  Purse
winner875 $ 9,567
Runner-up 575 $ 6,042
semifinalist 350$ 3,776
Quarter-finalist 215 $ 2,266
Second round 130 $ 1,385
First round 80 $ 881


Event News