Badminton NEWS

Mahoor lifts YONEX SUNRISE Pakistan Int’l Badminton series title

Mahoor Shahzad starts as she won the Women singles final while Rizwan Azam & Kashif Sulehri triumphs Men’s doubles event of YONEX SUNRISE Pakistan International Series Liaquat Gymnasium Pakistan Sports Complex Islamabad.


In the Men’s singles match, Vitamin’s top seeded player Duc Phat Le wins the title after defeating Turkey’s 2nd seeded player Emre Lale in a 3 set match. Winning score of Duc Phat was 15-21, 21-11, 21-11. Le was down in the 1st set but he came from behind and beats Emre in 2nd and 3rd set to win the title.

Pakistan Mahoor Shahzad clinched the title of Women’s single as she overpowered Sri Lankan Hasini Nuasak Ambalangodage easily in straight sets by 21-15, 21-19. The crowed gave standing ovation as Mahoor won the Women’s title of Pakistan International badminton series.

Pakistan won another title in Men’s double where pair of Rizwan Azam & Kashif Sulehri defeated countrymen Muhammad Irfan Saeed Bhatti in the final by 21-18, 21-18.

In Women double’s finals, Pakistani players were again contesting against same nationals where duo Palwasha Bashir & Khizra Rasheed defeated Sehra Akram & huma Javeed by 21-12, 21-11.

Nepal team won the mixed doubles final again playing against their own nationals. Team of Dipesh Dhami & Shova Gauchan win the final against Ratnajit Tamang & Nangsal Tamang by 21-14, 21-13.

Minister for Interprovincial cooperation Riaz Pirzada was the chief guest at the closing ceremony. He distributed prizes among the teams and players and while giving the prize to women champion Mahoor, the minister directed the PSB to facilitate her. DDG Administration Mansoor Ahmed, DDG Facilities Agha Amjed Ullah, Director Media Azam Dar, Assistant Director Hostels Malik Imtiaz Hussian, Pakistan Badminton Federation secretary Ch Wajid along with others were also present on the occasion

Following are the results of Finals

Men's Singles Final

Duc Phat Le (Vietnam)
Emre Lale (Turkey)
15-21, 21-11, 21-11

Women Singles Final

Mahoor Shahzad (Pakistan)
Hasini Nuasak Ambalangodage (Sri Lanka)
21-15, 21-19

Men Doubles Final

Rizwan Azam & Kashif Sulehri (Pakistan)
Muhammad Irfan Saeed Bhatti & Azeem Sarwar (Pakistan)
21-18, 21-18

Women Doubles Final

Palwash Bashir & Khizra Rasheed (Pakistan)
Sehra Akram & Huma Javeed (Pakistan)
21-12, 21-11

Mixed Doubles Final

Dipesh Dhami & Shova Gauchan (Nepal)
Ratnajit Tamang & Nangsal Tamang (Nepal)
21-14, 21-13

Related News