Volleyball NEWS

Pakistan ends 20th Asian Senior Men's Volleyball Championship journey on 7th spot

Pakistan Volleyball Team managed to claim 7th position at Asian Senior Men's Volleyball Championship 2019 by defeating the arch-rivals India by 3-2 at Tehran, Iran.

After an up-down performance, Pakistan Volleyball teams was to compete against the arch-rivals, India for 7th spot in 20th Asian Senior Men's Volleyball Championship where the team faced quiet a thrilling encounter but eventually itched their name on the winning side of the score board on the final score line of 3-2. 

Pakistani team's this triumph came through the splendid efforts of Aimal Khan and Mubashar Raza alongside other team members as they displayed great team work, managing to win the first set by 25-23 and then improved their performance further to win the second set on 25-21.

But just when the team started to celebrate their win, they fell heavily by 20-25 and then 19-25. But in the last and decisive set, Pakistan put all the possible pressure on their opponents which resulted in them falling to Pakistan's side that made it easier to win the set easily by 15-6.

To this victory, Chairman Pakistan Volleyball Federaion, Chaudhry Mohammad Yaqoob said that the victory against the arch rivals was a worthy one as they spent a huge budget on its national team.

He further informed that many countries had contacted Aimal to play in their professional leagues. He had received an offer of Rupees 7 to 8 million for a league of three months. A number of other Pakistani players like Murad, Mubashar and Wasim are already playing leagues in different countries. 

The 2019 Asian Men's Volleyball Championship was the 20th edition of the Asian Men's Volleyball Championship, a biennial international volleyball tournament organised by the Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) with Islamic Republic of Iran Volleyball Federation (IRIVF).

The championship was held in Tehran from September 13 to 21 which, this time, featured as many as 16 nations which included: South Korea, Indonesia, Kuwait, Iran, Pakistan, Australia, Qatar, Sri Lanka, Japan, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Hong Kong, Kazakhstan, China, Oman and India.

Related News