Cricket NEWS

Omar Colts lifts 1st Paracha Exchange Royal Ramzan T20 Cricket Cup trophy

Omar Colts emerged winners of the inaugural Medicam presents Paracha Exchange Royal Ramazan T20 League with a dramatic five-run victory over Eaton CC in the final match at Al-Mansoora Cricket Ground in Karachi.

The final encounter of the tournament was a battle witnessed between Eaton Cricket Club and Omar Colts team in which Omar Colts boys made Eaton Cricket Club players fall to them with just by a difference of five runs to end the tournament in their favor, taking home the trophy of this mega cricket event.  

Opting to bat first upon winning the toss, Omar Colts were all out fir 129 in 19.3 overs with Umar Siddique contributing a breezy 36. His 26-ball knock included four boundaries and a brace of sixes.

Other than Umar, Nasir Nawaz scored an unbeaten 25 with his 20-ball effort containing two sixes. Off-spinner, Fahad Anjum snared four wickets for 17 runs in three overs with unorthodox slow left-armer, Sudais taking 2-15 in four overs.

Eaton, in reply, were restricted to 124-6 with skipper Ashir Ali (24 off 19 balls, two fours) and Sudais (20) the only batsmen to get into the 20s. After his handy knock with the bat, man-of-the-match Nasir starred with his seamers to grab two wickets for 32 runs in three overs and off-spinning Agha Salman 2-20 in four overs.

Zaheer Ahmed Sheikh was the honorable chief guest, who witnessed the final winner being decided and later gave the winners trophy and cash award of Rs. 200,000 while the runner-up taem bagged the Rs 100,000 worth of cash prize along with the trophy.

Usman Khan was declared Player of the Tournament while the best category awards went to Usman (Batsman), Salman Khan (Bowler) and Furqan Khalil (Wicket-Keeper).

Summarized scores:

*OMAR COLTS 129 in 19.3 overs (Umar Siddique 36, Nasir Nawaz 25, Mohammad Ikhlaq 19; Fahad Anjum 4-17, Sadaqat Ali 2-15);
*EATON CC 124-6 in 20 overs (Ashir Ahmed 24, Sudais 20, Ammad Alam 19, Hasan Sardar 17; Agha Salman 2-20, Nasir Nawaz 2-32).

Royal Cricket Club in joint efforts with Medicam organized the first ever, Royal Ramzan T20 Cricket Cup, into the current year, that featured about a total of ten (10) teams belonging to several noticeable cricket clubs from all over the city of lights: Karachi.

Participating teams included: Rehman Foundation Cricket Club, Heroes Cricket Club, Leopards Cricket Club, Tango Cricket Academy, Rangoonwala Cricket Club, Eaton Cricket Club, Omar Colts Cricket Club, Omar Associates Cricket Club, Qasmi Cricket Club and Dubai Hawks Cricket Club.  

Related News