Volleyball NEWS

WAPDA retains 51st National Seniors Men's Volleyball Championship title

Defending champions, WAPDA beat Army by 3-2 to retain the title of 2019 National Senior Men's Volleyball Championship which successfully concluded at Nishtar Park Sports Complex in Lahore.


After winning the semi-finals from their respective opponents i.e. WAPDA won over PAF and Army out scored Navy by 3-0, WAPDA and Army were the two teams battling for the title victory in the final of National Senior Men's Volleyball Championship which was organized by Pakistan Volleyball Federation (PVF) into its 51st edition this year.

Though the defending champions, WAPDA team retained their title but the team players' performance was seen falling from the start of the match as the boys lost the first set 22-25 but soon WAPDA picked up the pace and did well in the second set, winning it on convincing margin of 25-20.

While the match seem to have drawn, WAPDA players started pushing pressure on Army team more and more and did fairly well with their performance improving it and winning the third set as well on a close call of 25-22. Just when WAPDA was about to be declared the winner team of the championship, Army boys made a comeback and won the fourth set 25-21 which made the game once again evenly poised.

In the fifth set that was the decisive set, both teams gave their all to win it and thus tak home the title of the championship, WAPDA took the set 15-13 to seal the victory in their favor. WAPDA has not retained the title of the 51st edition of this championship but it is the 5th consecutive title win for WAPDA.

While in the third position match, Pakistan Navy fell to the strong side of Pakistan Air Force (PAF) as PAF boys out scored the opponent team by 3-1 score line.The set scores were 25-19, 35-33, 20-25, 25-14. 

Governor Punjab, Chaudhry Sarwar was the honorable guest who witnessed the final decider being declared and later awarded the winner team with Rs. 200,000 while the runner up bagged Rs. 100,000 and Rs 50,000 for the third position holders.

This championship featured a total of about 14 teams, who lined up to compete for earning the title of this week long championship. Participating teams include: Pakistan Army, Pakistan Navy, Pakistan Air Force (PAF), Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA), Police, Railways, Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Islamabad, Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA), Gilgit Baltistan (GB), Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK), Higher Education Commission (HEC) and Pakistan Ordnance Factories (POF) Wah, Punjab and Sindh.

Ndure was the title sponserper of this championship whereas Auqafina,  J. and Allied Bank also sponsored this event. 

Related News