Tennis NEWS

Noor, Uzair, Zeb seals Junior Squash Titles

Noor Zaman, Uzair Shoukat and Abbas Zeb win their respective titles in the Wazir Gul National Junior Squash Championship at the PAF Hashim Khan Squash Complex, Peshawar.

Wazir Gul National Junior Squash Championship was organized by the KPK Squash Association which concluded at PAF Hashim Khan Squash Complex, Peshawar. A total of 110 players participated in Under-15, Under-17 and Under-19 categories where Noor Zaman, Uzair Shoukat and Abbas Zeb claimed the titles in their respective age categories. 

In the U-15 final, Noor Zaman defeated Muhammad Hamza in a thrilling four-set battle. Noor Zaman played well and despite losing the third set he came back strongly by winning the fourth set. Both Noor Zaman and Muhammad Hamza gave each other a tough fight and were stretched to 12-10 and 10-12 in the second and third set but overall Noor played marvelously and outplayed Hamza by 11-9, 12-10, 10-12 and 11-9.

In the U-17 final, Uzair Shoukat defeated Rashid Daulat in another thrilling match where both were stretched to a 3-2 battle that lasted for 44 minutes. Uzair Shoukat lost the first two sets at 9-11 and 10-12 but he bounced back quickly and recorded vital victories in the remaining three consecutive sets at 11-7, 11-9 and 12-10. Thus Uzair Shoukat won the final 3-2.
In the U-19 final Abbas Zeb defeated Zeeshan Zeb by 3-1 the score was 8-11, 11-9, 11-7 and 11-7. Abbas Zeb face hard resistance against his player Zeeshan Zeb but overall Abbas Zeb dominated and marched into victory. 

Asif Jamal, known businessman graced the ceremony as chief guest on this occasion and gave away trophies and cash prizes to the position holders. Former World Champion Qamar Zaman, Executive Member KP Squash Association Wazir Gul, Nazim Nawa Khali Sajjiad Khalil, Chief Referee Pakistan Squash Federation Munawar Zaman, Squash coach Riaz Khan, officials, players and large number of spectators were also present. 

Final Results of Wazir Gul National Junior Squash Championship:
In Under-15
Noor Zaman defMuhammad Hamza 1-9, 12-10, 10-12 and 11-9
In Under-17
Uzair ShoukatdefRashid Daulat9-11, 10-12, 11-7, 11-9 and 12-10
In Under-19
Abbas Zeb def Zeeshan Zeb8-11, 11-9, 11-7 and 11-7

Related News