Cricket NEWS

PCB and PSL Eye Big Players for Tenth Edition

Innovations are also in consideration to make the event more interesting.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and Pakistan Super League (PSL) franchises are gearing up for the tenth edition's draft by shortlisting prominent players from top cricketing nations like Australia, England, and South Africa.

According to media reports, many star players are targeted for the draft.

List of Players Targeted for PSL 10 Draft:

Australia: Steve Smith, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Daniel Sams

England: Joe Root, Adil Rashid, Ben Duckett, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Sam Billings

New Zealand: Tim Southee, Finn Allen, Colin Munro, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi

South Africa: Rassie Van Der Dussen, Tabraiz Shamsi, Reeza Hendricks

West Indies: Jason Holder 

The event window for PSL 2025 has been confirmed by PCB, scheduled from April 7 to May 20, coinciding with the ICC Champions Trophy 2025.

In a bid to enhance the excitement of PSL matches, innovative changes are being considered. One proposed concept involves both teams submitting two separate team sheets at the toss, allowing them to select their final playing XI after the toss outcome, aiming to eliminate any disadvantage for the team losing the toss.

Additionally, the application of Power Surge, similar to Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL), was discussed during the deliberations.

Meanwhile, the draft schedule for PSL 2025 reveals that Lahore and Rawalpindi will host more matches compared to Karachi. Karachi, which hosted fewer matches in the last season due to low turnout, will have five matches, while Lahore is set to host ten and Rawalpindi eight. Multan will also get five matches during the event.

Moreover, the PSL 2025 playoffs are expected to be held at a neutral venue, with England being the likely destination.

In the previous season, Karachi hosted 11 matches, including important playoff encounters, while Lahore and Rawalpindi each hosted nine matches. Multan also contributed to the cricketing extravaganza with five matches in the City of Saints.

Related News