Cricket NEWS

Ayesha Zafar's Century Goes in Vain

Lahore, Karachi, Quetta won on the Opening Day of the National Women's One-Day Tournament.

In a thrilling encounter at the Bohranwali Cricket Ground in Faisalabad, Peshawar opener Ayesha Zafar showcased a remarkable unbeaten century on the opening day of the National Women’s One-Day Tournament. However, despite her stellar performance, Peshawar ended up on the losing side as Lahore secured a convincing seven-wicket victory.

Ayesha Zafar's outstanding innings scored 108 runs from 94 balls, adorned with 16 fours and two sixes.

Unfortunately, she lacked support from her teammates, and Peshawar was dismissed for 166 runs in 32.5 overs. Lahore's bowlers, led by Ayesha Bilal (4/33), Anam Amin (3/30), and Noreen Yaqoob (2/40), shared the wickets, restricting Peshawar's total.

In reply, Lahore easily chased the target, reaching 167 runs for the loss of three wickets in just 31 overs. Dua Majid played a crucial role with an unbeaten 66 runs off 74 balls, supported by captain Kaynat Hafeez, who contributed 61 runs from 69 balls.

Meanwhile, Karachi emerged victorious against Multan at the Iqbal Stadium by securing a six-wicket win. Multan, batting first, was bowled out for 116 runs in 36.3 overs, and Karachi comfortably chased down the target, reaching 117 runs for the loss of four wickets in 23.1 overs, with Omaima Sohail top-scoring with 49 runs.

In another fixture at the Jawad Sports Complex Ground, Quetta's Rameen Shamim delivered an exceptional all-round performance to guide her team to victory against Rawalpindi. Shamim claimed four wickets for just 16 runs as Rawalpindi were bowled out for 80 runs in 43 overs. Later, she showcased her batting prowess by scoring an unbeaten 27 runs off 76 balls, guiding Quetta to a two-wicket victory with more than 13 overs to spare.

Scores in brief:
Lahore beat Peshawar by seven wickets at Bohranwali Cricket Ground
Peshawar 166 all-out, 32.5 overs (Ayesha Zafar 108 not out; Ayesha Bilal 4-33, Anam Amin 3-30, Noreen Yaqoob 2-40)
Lahore 169-3, 31 overs (Dua Majid 66 not out, Kaynat Hafeez 61)

Karachi beat Multan by six wickets at Iqbal Stadium
Multan 116 all-out, 36.3 overs (Gull Feroza 44; Syeda Masooma Zahra 2-15, Aimen Anwar 2-20, Syeda Aroob Shah 2-22)
Karachi 117-4, 23.1 overs (Omaima Sohail 49, Huraina Sajjad 21 not out; Noor-ul-Iman 2-35)

Quetta beat Rawalpindi by two wickets at Jawad Sports Complex Ground.
Rawalpindi 80 all-out, 43 overs (Maham Anees 25; Rameen Shamim 4-16)
Quetta 84-8, 36.3 overs (Rameen Shamim 27 not out; Tania Saeed 3-11, Fatima Zahra 2-24)

Next round Fixtures: Quetta vs. Peshawar, Iqbal Stadium; Lahore vs. Karachi, Jawad Club Cricket Ground; Rawalpindi vs. Multan, Bohranwali Cricket Ground.

Related News