Cricket NEWS

T20 World Cup 2024: Officially Fixtures Confirmed

The tournament, which is being co-hosted by the USA and the West Indies, will begin on June 1 and end on June 29

The schedule for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 has been confirmed. The tournament will begin on 1st June with West Indies and the USA co-host the mega tournament.

Host USA will take on Canada in the opening match while the co-host West Indies will take on Papua New Guinea on the second day of the tournament. 

Date Confirmed for PAKISTAN vs INDIA T20 World Cup 2024 Clash

One of the oldest, biggest, and fiercest cricketing rivals England and Australia will face each other on June 8th in Barbados before intense sports rivalries in the world Pakistan and India face off on June 9th in New York City.

Pakistan will face the USA, Canada, and Ireland on June 6th, 11th, and on 16th respectively in the group stage. The venue will be Dallas, New York, and Laudehill. 

T20 World Cup 2024 Groups

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA.
Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman.
Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea.
Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal.

A total of 55 games will be played across six venues in the West Indies (Kensington Oval, Barbados; Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad; Providence Stadium, Guyana; Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua; Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, St Lucia; Arnos Vale Stadium, St Vincent) and three venues in the USA (Eisenhower Park, New York; Lauderhill, Florida; and Grand Prairie, Texas).

The 2024 T20 World Cup will be contested by 20 teams - an increase from the 16 that took part in the 2022 tournament in Australia - split into four groups of five each. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8 round, in which the teams will be further divided into two groups of four each: A1, B2, C1 and D2 in one group, and A2, B1, C2 and D1 in the other group. The top two teams in each Super 8 group will then qualify for the semi-finals.

England are the defending champions, having beaten Pakistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup final in Melbourne. Canada, the USA, and Uganda will be making their first appearance at a Men's T20 World Cup.

Related News