Badminton NEWS

KRL, SNGPL, KPT, WAPDA advance into 57th National Badminton C'ships quarters

KRL, SNGPL, KPT and WAPDA overpowered their respective opponents to move into Men's Team event quarterfinals of the 57th edition of National Badminton Championships being played at WAPDA Sports Complex, Lahore

The 57th edition of National Badminton Championships has started at WAPDA Sports Complex Lahore where more then 200 players comprised of 15 men's and 9 women's teams are participating in the championships.

Team events of men and women took place on the opening day while individual men's singles, women's singles, men's doubles, women's doubles and mixed doubles will also be played in the championships.

Wajid Ali Chaudhry Secretary General Pakistan Badminton federation inaugurated the championships and distributed cash prize among the the winners of International events.

Rs. 100,000.00 were awarded to Miss Mahoor Shahzad for winning Pakistan International series Badminton tournament 2019. Rs. 50,000.00 to Muhammad Adnan and Raja Zulqarnain Haider for winning of South Asian U-21 Championships Maldives in Men Double event. Rs. 50,000.00 to Muhammad Adnan, Raja Zulqarnain Haider, Amal Muneeb and Mehwsih Khan for winning Bronze Medal in South Asian U-21 Championships Maldives in Mixed team event.

The results of the team event matches are as under: 

Men's Team event Pre Quarter Final Results:

  • KRL beat Punjab by 3-1

1st Single: Muteeb Sohail (KRL) beat Mahmood Ur Rehman (Punjab) by 21-15, 21-17

1st Double: Nadeem Ashfaq & Jalees (Punjab) beat Imtiaz & Yaseen (KRL) by 21-11, 21-11

2nd Single: Uaakeph Khan (KRL) beat Ashan Tanveer (Punjab) by 21-10, 21-18

2nd Double: Muteeb Sohail & Uaakpeh Khan (KRL) beat Mehmood & Ashan (Punjab) by 21-16, 23-21

  • SNGPL beat Balochistan by 3-0

1st Single: Muhammad Nouman Sabir (SNGPL) beat Akbar (Balochistan) by 21-16, 21-11

1st Double: M Muqeet & Shahmeer Iftikhar (SNGPL) beat Faraz & Imran (Balochistan) by 21-9, 21-12

2nd Single: Shahmeer Iftikhar (SNGPL) beat Hassana (Balochistan) by 21-12, 21-14

  • Azad Jammu Kashmir beat Islamabad by 3-2

1st Single: Ali Chishti (Islamabad) beat M Rafiq (AJK) by 21-15, 21-17

1st Double: Uzair & Hamza (AJK) beat Ehsan & Waqas (Islamabad) by 21-14, 21-13

2nd Single: Ahmad Janjua (Islamabad) beat Danyal (AJK) by 21-12, 21-12

2nd Double: M Rafiq & Danyal (AJK) beat Ali Chishti & Ahmad Janjua (Islamabad) by 21-16, 12-21, 21-16

3rd Single: Uzair (AJK) beat Waseem Sarwar (Islamabad) by 21-9, 21-19

  • KPT beat Sindh by 3-0

1st Single: Fazal Ur Rehman (KPT) beat Shahid Ahmad (Sindh) by 23-21, 21-15

1st Double: Fazal Ur Rehman & Khalil (KPT) beat Shahid & Hamza (Sindh) by 21-19, 21-19

2nd Single: Hafiz Nadeem Sarwar (KPT) beat Maaz Ali (Sindh) by 21-19, 21-10

  • Pakistan WAPDA beat New Khan by 3-0

1st Single: Ali Mehdi (WAPDA) beat Yousaf (New Khan) by 22-20, 15-21, 21-6

1st Double: Muhammad Atique & M Ali Larosh (WAPDA) beat Asim & Irfan (New Khan) by 21-16, 21-9

2nd Single: Abdur Rehman (WAPDA) beat Anas (New Khan) by 21-11, 21-12

Khyber Pakhtunkhw beat Pakistan Army by 3-1

1st Single: Abdullah Latif (Army) beat Tahir Shah (KP) by 21-17, 22-20

1st Double: Faraz & Shakirullah (KP) beat Adeel Anjum & Usman Shah (Army)

2nd Single: Muhammad Adnan (KP) beat Muqsit Islam (Army) by 14-21, 21-18, 21-17

2nd Double: Muhammad Adnan & Tahir (KP) beat Abdullah Latif & Muqsit (Army) by 21-13, 21-18

Women Team Pre Quarter Final

  • Islamabad Beat Balochistan by 3-0

1st Single: Yasmeen Shahzadi (Islamabad) beat Sahar (Balochistan) by 21-13, 21-13

1st Double: Zainab & Yasmeen Shahzadi (Islamabad) beat Yareeha & Mansoora (Balochistan) by 21-10, 21-19

2nd Single: Zainab (Islamabad) beat Benin (Balochistan) by 21-10, 21-9

Men Team Quarter Final

  • NBP beat Police by 3-0

1st Single: Anjum Bashir (NBP) beat Tahir Khan (Police) by 21-18, 21-13

1st Double: Kashif Sulehri & Raja Haider (NBP) beat Tahir Khan & Masood (Police) by 21-12, 21-12

2nd Single: Murad Ali (NBP) beat Zohaib (Police) by 21-23, 21-12, 21-15


  • SNGPL beat KPT by 3-0

1st single: Muhammad Muqeet (SNGPL) beat Hafiz Nadeem (KPT) by 21-14, 21-14

1st Double: Ahmad Tariq & Nouman Sabir (SNGPL) beat Fazal Ur Rehman & Khalil (KPT) by 11-21, 21-16, 21-16

2nd Single: Shahmeer Iftikhar (SNGPL) Fazal Ur Rehman (KPT) by 21-14, 18-21, 22-20

  • Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Beat Azad Jammu Kashmir by 3-1

1st Single: Muhammad Adnan (KP) beat Danyal (AJK) by 21-14, 21-12

1st Double: Hamza & Uzair (AJK) beat Faraz & Shakirullah (KP) by 21-15, 21-12

2nd Single: Tahir Shah (KP) beat Uzair (AJK) by 18-4 retired hurt

2nd Double: Tahir Shah & Muhammad Adnan (KP) beat Danyaal & Rafiq (AJK) by 21-11, 21-11


Women Team Quarter Final

  • Pakistan Wapda beat Sindh by 3-0

1st Single: Mahoor Shahzad (Wapda) beat Sama Asif (Sindh) by 21-3, 21-7

1st Double: Bushra Qayum & Aneela Irshad (Wapda) beat Sama Asif & Sofia (Sindh) by 21-6, 21-9

2nd Single: Ghazala Siddique (Wapda) beat Omama Usman (Sindh) by 21-10, 21-8


  • Punjab beat Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by 3-0

1st Single: Amal Munib (Punjab) beat Amber Khan (KP) by 21-8, 21-6

1st Double: Amna & Zainab (Punjab) beat Faryal & Hina (KP) by 18-21, 21-14, 21-11

2nd Single: Laiba Masoud (Punjab) beat Mehwish Khan (KP) by 21-8, 21-11

  • SNGPL beat Pakistan Army by 3-1

1st Single: Zubaira Islam (SNGPL) beat Rida Haneef (Army) by 21-12, 21-10

1st Double: Zubaira Islam & Javeria (SNGPL) beat Rida Haneef & Summiya Tariq (Army) by 21-17, 17-21, 21-14

2nd Single: Summiya Tariq (Army) beat Wirda Gohar (SNGPL) by 21-9, 24-22

2nd Double: Wirdha & Aqsa (SNGPL) get walk over against Arooj & Haleema (Army) 

Related News