Cricket NEWS

Candyland & NBP falls to SBP & K-Electric in 7th Corporate T20 Cricket Cup

SBP thrashed Candyland while defending champions, K-Electric beat NBP in the Corporate T20 Cricket Cup 2019 matches played at DHA Sports Club (Moin Khan Academy) in Karachi.


State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) captain, Saad Ali and Rohail Nazir scored important half-centuries as SBP completely dominated the match and made Candyland team fall to them by 149 runs.

SBP won the toss and elected to bat first and as the match proceeded, they were left shocked in the first over as in-form batsman, Mukhtar Ahmad and Rizwan Hussain got out on full tosses of Hurain Shahid, while Daniyal Rajput ran himself out on the last ball of the over.

SBP were five for three after one over but all-rounder Ammad Butt, who was promoted, provided a perfect counter punch to break the shackles as he raced to 50 off just 20 balls with 6 sixes and two boundaries. Then, Saad and Rohail carried the momentum to help SBP post mammoth total of 221 for the loss of six wickets. Rohail made 81 off 45 smashing 6 sixes and four boundaries, while Saad scored a 41-ball 73 studded with four maximums and five fours. 

Candyland players could only labor to 72 for the loss of 5 wickets. Hurain scored 26, while Zubair Dilawar made 21 as Fawad Khan got two wickets.
In the other clash between the defending champions, K-Electric and National Bank of Pakistan (NBP) saw K-Electric winning with beating star-studded, NBP by 51 runs.

Set a target of 172, NBP were dismissed for 120 in 17.3 overs as trio of Mohammad Mohsin, Mohammad Imran and Agha Salman bagged three scalps each.

Skipper Shan Masood top-scored with 43 while Danish Aziz made 23. Earlier, K-Elected posted 171 for nine in their 20 overs as Ramiz Aziz made a fine 35-ball 55 with help of four sixes and three boundaries, Umair Yousuf (35), Khurram Manzoor (21) and Imran (17) chipped in with useful knocks. Ali Imran and Mohammad Asghar chip in with three wickets apiece.

Summarized scores:

First Game:

*STATE BANK 221-5 in 20 overs (Rohail Nazir 81, Saad Ali 73, Amad Butt 50; Ali Zaidi 2-15, Mirza Bilal Baig 2-52);
*CANDYLAND 72-5 in 20 overs (Hurair Shahid 26, Zubair Dilawar 21 not out; Fawad Khan 2-21).

Second Encounter:

*K-ELECTRIC 171-9 in 20 overs (Ramiz Aziz 55, Umair Bin Yousuf 35, Khurram Manzoor 21; Mohammad Asghar 3-22, Ali Imran 3-37);
*NATIONAL BANK 120 in 17.3 overs (Shan Masood 43, Danish Aziz 23; Mohammad Mohsin 3-13, Mohammad Imran 3-24, Agha Salman 3-31).

Related News