Cricket NEWS

PAF & Santex Group win Osaka Naya Nazimabad Ramzan Cricket Cup 2019 openers

Pakistan Air Force (PAF) and Santex Group emerged the first-day winners of the Brighto presents Osaka Naya Nazimabad Ramzan Cricket Cup 2019 which is being held at Naya Nazimabad Stadium in Karachi.

Santex opened the competition with a stunning four-wicket defeat of National Bank despite Kamran Ghulam excelling with a brilliant all-round show. Kamran made an unbeaten 46 (off 26 balls, three fours and two sixes) in a total of 165-7 in 20 overs. He then claimed 3-24 but his heroics proved inadequate as Santex reached 168-6 on the penultimate ball of the match. 

Ammad Alam shone for Santex with a 41-ball knock of 56 (five fours and three sixes) before Kamran was named Man of the Match.

Retired Pakistan national team captain, Misbah Ul Haq, scored just two as his side Saima Group was shot out for 89 in 184 overs by PAF’s Usman Ahmed (3-10), Kashif Ali (3-32) and Mohammad Ismail (2-6). PAF sealed victory in 9.5 overs before Kashif and Ismail were declared joint man-of-the-match. 

Earlier, the event was inaugurated by Arif Habib and Commissioner Karachi Iftikhar Ali Shallwani at a spectacular opening ceremony.

Summarized scores:

PAF beat Saima Group by seven wickets.

*SAIMA GROUP 89 in 18.4 overs (Shaharyar Ghani 25, Fazal Subhan 22; Usman Ahmed 3-10, Kashif Ali 3-32, Mohammad Ismail 2-6);
*PAF 91-3 in 9.5 overs (Osama Baloch 39).

Santex Group beat National Bank by four wickets.

*NATIONAL BANK 165-7 in 20 overs (Kamran Ghulam 46 not out, Ali Imran 32, Kamran Akmal 24; Wasim Ali 2-24);
*SANTEX GROUP 168-6 in 19.5 overs (Ammad Alam 56, Nabeel Khalid 36, Hussain Talat 36; Kamran Ghulam 3-24, Mohammad Asghar 2-27).

As many as 16 teams have lined up to compete in this mega cricket event and these teams have been divided into four groups which are stated below:

Group A includes: Omar Associates, Pakistan Air Force (PAF), Agha Estate and Santex Group;
Group B comprises: National Bank, K-Electric, Al-Rehman Foundation and Saima Group;
Group C has: State Bank, Karachi Port Trust, Pakistan Currency and Alamgir Gymkhana;
Group D consists: SSGC, Port Qasim, Pakistan Customs and KK Panthers.

Two matches are scheduled daily during the league phase with the first match starting at 08:00 PM sharp and the other at 12:00 midnight. The quarters-finals are scheduled for 23rd and 24th May while the semi-finals will be staged on 25th May, followed by the final on 26th May.

The winner team will be awarded with Rs. 1.2 million worth of cash prize while the runner-up team will bag a prize pursue Rs. 600,000. The man-of-the-match of each game would get a motorbike.

Related News