Chess NEWS

Tanvir Gillani crown champion of Syed Zahid Gillani Memorial Chess Tournament (National Rated) 2019

The 2019 Syed Zahid Gillani Memorial Chess Tournament (National Rated) concluded successfully with Mr Tanvir Gillani taking home the title victory at PSB Coaching Center in Lahore.

Mr Tanveer Gillian came out the best with his splendid skills as he defeated several of his opponents for the top spot to catch the title victory along with a cash prize of Rupees 10,000. He was followed by the top position winner of  2019 Lahore District Qualifying Chess Championship, Sibt Ali on the Runner up spot this time, who bagged 7,000 Rupees worth of cash prize. 

Rashad Rafique settled for the third position collecting prize money of Rupees 5,000 whereas Amir Zahoor lacked just one spot behind taking the 4th position with 3,000 Rupees cash prize. Amjad Hafeez Bajwa and Hamid Hassan got 2,000/- Rupees taking 5th and 6th positions, respectively. 

More notable performers of this event came from Sabir Mehmood, Zorez Shabkhez, Muhammad Ramzan and  Muhammad Ayoub that stands at 7th to 10th positions, respectively. Abdul Jabbar and Khalid Mahmood Ashraf took the last two spots. 

Chess Association of Punjab (CAP) and PAK Chess Club (PCC) in collaboration with Chess Federation of Pakistan organized the 2019 Syed Zahid Gillani Memorial Chess Tournament (National Rated) and was hosted by Chess Association of Punjab (CAP) which featured competitions for both categories of male and female, where several players displayed their best of skills so as to emerge winners in their respective competition. 

Related News